Friday, May 17, 2013

Not So YA Friday: Midnight Secrets by Ella Grace


Midnight Secrets by Ella Grace
eARC received from Ballantine Books
Release Date:  On Sale Now
Reviewed by Middle Sis Jenn
The Sisters Say:  Steamy with a good chunk of alpha male!
For fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster, a thrilling new romantic suspense novel from Ella Grace
AT THE STROKE OF MIDNIGHT, THE HEAT BEGINS

On a hot southern night, with a storm on the horizon, a family is shattered. Three beautiful daughters—Savannah, Samantha, and Sabrina Wilde—go on with their lives, each significantly changed, as they bear the memory of the murder-suicide that killed their parents. For years, they have stayed away from Midnight, Alabama. Until Midnight calls them home.

Savannah is the first one back, when a grueling case in Nashville leads the young prosecutor to seek shelter in the quiet of the once grand Wilde mansion. But when she finds letters casting doubt on her family’s dark, shameful past, she realizes that peace in Midnight is a shallow façade and sinister secrets lurk beneath the surface. Zach Tanner, once the town’s bad boy, is now the new police chief and still has a wild hold over her. Zach can feel it, too, but he hurt Savannah once. As teenagers, they broke every rule together. Now it’s his job to keep her safe, even though he isn’t sure who her enemies are—or which ones might be his own.

I just love romantic suspense novels.  I can always guarantee that they are going to have a butt-kicking, gun-toting, heat inducing alpha male who will knock me off my feet.  Add that to the great action scenes and attempted murder and mayhem, and I am sold.

Midnight Secrets definitely delivered the alpha male with Police Chief Zach Tanner.  Ex-military with a bone to pick with the corrupt dealings of a small town, Zach definitely knows how to stir up trouble (along with other more steamy things).  I loved his protectiveness, and since we got to see his POV quite often, we also got to see inside his head.  I always enjoy seeing how an alpha male thinks—the jealousy and the need to protect the damsel in distress is always entertaining, and it makes me wish there were more alpha males in the world.  (The good alpha males…not the jerks). 

I enjoyed Savannah for the most part.  I did think she was a bit too whiny at times, and I wanted her to just suck it up and tell him the truth (which we didn’t find out until almost the very end).  She just seemed very weak at times, which was weird because she’s this kick butt prosecutor who is supposedly used to rattling cages.  I wish she would have been stronger with just a hint of the damsel in distress, instead of seeming like she constantly needed to be saved.  I think I will like her sisters more because they seem to be more outspoken and confident.  Still, I had fun watching Savannah and Zach’s relationship progress.

I enjoyed the action scenes, although I wish they would have been a bit more dangerous.  I’m used to Lori Foster’s books where the action is insatiable, and that just wasn’t the case with this book.  Don’t get me wrong, there is still great action, but it just wasn’t as well drawn out as some other romantic suspense books I have read.

Ella Grace does know how to write a great steamy relationship.  This is definitely for the adult reader as there is explicit sexual scenes.  But for those of you who like a little steam in your romance, then you will definitely need to check this one out.  Ella knows how to write the hunky male who always wants to be in charge—not matter where he is.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one, and I am looking forward to Samantha and Bri’s stories.  And I’m hoping that Brody (ex-military friend of Zach) is the focus of one of their stories!